Dr. Goh Yaw Chong

General Surgery

Credentials MBBS 1992 FRCSEd 1996 PhD 2005 FAMS 2006
Language English,Mandarin Chinese,Bahasa Melayu,Hokkien Dialect,Cantonese Dialect

Dr Goh Yaw Chong is a senior consultant in General Surgery with subspecialty practice in gastrointestinal and laparoscopic surgery, endoscopy and endoluminal therapy. He graduated from the Faculty of Medicine, National University of Singapore in 1992. He trained in Surgery and was elected to Fellowship of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh in 1996. Further training took him to Edinburgh, United Kingdom, in the subspecialty areas of gastrointestinal and hepatobiliary surgery at the Department of Clinical Surgery, Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh, as well as in laparoscopic biliary surgery in Glasgow. During that period he had also been awarded PhD by the University of Edinburgh, for research in immunology funded by the NMRC-Totalistor Board scholarship. He returned to the Department of General Surgery, Singapore General Hospital in 2005.

He has been awarded the long service award by Singapore General Hospital for more than 20 years of public service. He retains his position with SGH as Visiting Senior Consultant to the Department of Upper GI & Bariatric Surgery, where he continues training surgical residents in endoscopic diagnostics and therapeutics.

He is an instructor in Advance Trauma Life Support (ATLS). He also maintains his teaching appointment with the Department of Physiology, Faculty of Medicine, National University of Singapore.

He has been an instructor for the Singapore International Foundation-Cambodia Calmette Hospital Trauma Workshop in 2011, and for Singhealth and Sri Lanka Army Medical Corps Trauma Workshop in 2012.


Outstanding Faculty Award, Singhealth Surgery Residency 2013/2014

Outstanding Faculty Award, Singhealth Surgery Residency 2012/2013

Long Service Award, Singapore General Hospital 2013

Dean’s Award for Teaching Excellence, NUS School of Medicine 2011/2012

Appreciation award for Core Faculty, Singhealth Residency 2010 to 2014