Dr. James C M Khoo

Neurosurgery (Brain & Nerves)

Credentials MBBS (Singapore), FAMS (Neurosurgery), MD (Neurosurgery) (Singapore), FRACS (Neurosurgery)
Language English, Mandarin Chinese, Bahasa Melayu, Bahasa Indonesia, Hokkien Dialect

Dr James Khoo is a Consultant Neurosurgeon at the Mount Elizabeth Medical Centre and a Visiting Consultant at the National University Hospital. He was previously a Visiting Consultant with the National Neuroscience Institute and the Founding Chairman of the National Neuroscience Institute.

He received his MBBS (1969) from the University of Singapore and Doctor of Medicine (1985) from the National University of Singapore. He is a fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (1974) and the Academy of Medicine, Singapore (1976). In 1970, he was awarded the Howard Eddey Gold Medal from the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons. Dr Khoo was also awarded a Colombo Plan Scholarship in 1972 where he did his training in the Royal Perth Hospital, Australia. He went on to receive a WHO Fellowship in Neurosurgery in USA and Canada in 1977.

His major research interests are Pineal Hormones – Melatonin, Cerebro-Vascular Disease, Stroke, Brain tumours, Neck and Lumbar Spine Disorders.

Special Interests


  • Brain Tumors
  • Brain Stroke including haemorrhage and Ischemic Brain Stroke, as in cerebrovascular occlusive disorders
  • Cervical Spine Diseases
  • Lumbar Spinal Disorders
  • Pain Syndrome

Dr Khoo is the Vice-Chairman, Ren Ci Hospital (for the chronic sick) and the Chairman of the Medical Advisory Committee of Ren Ci Hospital. He was the executive producer of documentary films on Myanmar: Pagan – The Jeweled Kingdom and editor of Art & Archaeology of Fu Nan-Pre-Khmer Kingdom of the Lower Mekong Valley. He was also the former chairman of the Asian Civilisations Museum. He was a founding member of the National Heritage Board. He is the present chairman of the Conservation Advisory Panel.

In recognition of his public services, Dr Khoo was awarded the Public Service Medal (Pingat Bakti Masyarakat) in 1999.